Welcome visitor you can log in or create an account

Cancun Beach Polo Tournament

By Alex Webbe

Lemmus scores win in the finals of the First Annual Cancun Beach Polo Tournament
Cancun Beach Polo, POLO Magazine

 The Lemmus polo team (Hugo Villalobos, Francisco Amaro and Chava Briones ) won

the first Cancun Beach Polo tournament Sunday afternoon with a 6-5 overtime win
over a determined Scappino trio (Catriona Brown, Miguel Gomez and Rogelio Igartua)
Sunday afternoon in Cancun, Mexico with five teams participating in the first year event.

Organized by Manolo Calvo and the El Rey Polo Club, the Cancun Beach Polo
tournament is the second in a series of three tournaments in the area, following the
recent playing of the Sixth Annual Copa Del Rey and preceding the club’s Inter club
tournament next week.

Scappino led for the first three chukkers of the four chukker match, taking a 2-0 first
chukker lead and holding on for a 3-2 lead at the end of the first half.

Scappino extended the lead to two goals, 5-3 after the third but was outscored 2-0 in
the final chukker of regulation play.



Cancun Beach Polo-2

Shortly into the sudden-death overtime period, Hugo Villalobos broke through the
Scappino defense to score the winning goal as Lemmus (Lemmus Mexico Real Estate
is Mexico's largest seashore resort real estate broker with Mexico coastline offices in
Cancun, Puerto Vallarta, Mazatlan and Guadalajara) celebrated the 6-5 victory.

Team NOW Resorts (Eduardo Barrena, Nacho Estrada and Bo Marcelin) scored a win
in the consolation round-robin against Mazda/Hard rock Hotels (Manolo Calvo, Alex
Verdayes and Roberto Nunez) and Nextel (Diego Velarde, Alejandro Morera and Luis
Miguel Basaguren).


Cancun Beach Polo-3